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TO:  All Community-Based Adult Services (CBAS) Providers 
 
FROM: CBAS Branch  
 
DATE:  July 31, 2013 

 
SUBJECT: State Fair Hearing Penalty Payments Updates 

 
 

This fax is being sent to provide updated information regarding fair hearing penalty payment 
checks that are currently being issued to eligible CBAS participants.  Please share this 
information with participants at your center who receive a check and have questions. 
 
For More Information: 
Access the CDA CBAS website at: 
 
www.aging.ca.gov/ProgramsProviders/ADHC-CBAS/Default.asp 
 
Contact CDA at: 

 Email – CBAScda@aging.ca.gov  
 Phone – (916) 419-7545 
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ACL #13-13 

 
Date:  July 31, 2013 
 
To: Community-Based Adult Services (CBAS) Center Administrators and Program 

Directors 
 
From: CBAS Branch 
 
Subject: State Fair Hearing Penalty Payments Updates 
 

 
Purpose This letter updates information provided in the All Center Letter (ACL 13-11) the 

California Department of Aging (CDA) sent on July 9, 2013, regarding fair 
hearing penalty payment checks that the California Department of Social 
Services (CDSS) is currently issuing to eligible CBAS participants.  Please share 
this information with those participants at your center who receive penalty 
payment checks and have questions. 
 

Background 
Regarding 
Penalty 
Payments 
 

Medi-Cal rules require the State to pay penalties to Medi-Cal beneficiaries when they 
request fair hearings and do not receive a final decision within 90 days.  The payment 
is known as a Ball v. Swoap penalty payment, after the lawsuit that generated this 
rule.  
 
CDSS is currently sending penalty checks to CBAS participants who did not receive 
fair hearing decisions within the 90-day timeframe.  Penalty payment checks amounts 
are based on the number of days past the 90-day timeframe to the date the hearing 
decision was released.  Consequently, check amounts for each participant will vary.  
Most of the participants who will receive checks are individuals who were found 
ineligible at the time of the transition from the Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) program 
to CBAS in 2012 and later found eligible through the fair hearing process.  
 

Penalty Payment 
Impact on Medi-
Cal and SSI/SSP 
Benefits 
 
 

It is important for check recipients to understand the reason they are receiving 
the check and that the amount will NOT be counted as income or property 
relative to their Medi-Cal eligibility status.  However, the penalty payment MAY 
be counted as income relative to their SSI/SSP benefits.  
 
Penalty payment check recipients must report the amount of the payment as 
income on their Medi-Cal Status Report Form (MC176S), and it is essential that 
they report the payment as a "Ball Payment."  This will ensure that any loss of 
Supplemental Security Income/State Supplementary Payment (SSI/SSP) 
benefits does not interrupt the individual’s Medi-Cal benefits.  Check recipients 
should be advised to present the attached letter, All County Welfare 
Directors/Administrative Officers Letter 87-2, to their Social Security 
Administration (SSA) workers to assist with the reporting process.  
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SSA is the final arbiter of SSI/SSP benefit decisions.  However, if your 
participants receive any erroneous information from their SSA worker regarding 
loss of Medi-Cal benefits, those matters should be elevated to SSA District 
Office management for resolution. 
 

Questions Additional guidance regarding the penalty income can be found by following the 
link below to the Disability Rights California (DRC) website, Publications and 
Resources page, or by calling 800-776-5746.  
 
 DRC Link - "Community Based Adult Services (CBAS) Hearing Penalties (July 

2013, #5528.01)" 
www.disabilityrightsca.org/pubs/552801.pdf 

 
For questions about this letter, please call the CBAS Branch at (916) 419-7545 
or email us at: CBAScda@aging.ca.gov.  
 

 
 
Attachment All County Welfare Directors/Administrative Officers Letter 87-2 
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